Knox Country Podcast

Knox Country Podcast header image 1

Ep 23: Ben Vaughn - From Intern to President & CEO

Ben Vaughn is one of the most accomplished Executives in the Nashville Music Industry.  In 2019, Vaughn was appointed President & CEO for Warner Chappell Nashville.  Previously, Vaughn had already become the youngest executive to head a major publisher in Nashville (EVP & GM, EMI Music Publishing) but now claims the rare distinction of having overseen two major Nashville publishers. Prior to his work at the majors, Vaughn ran an independent music publishing company at the age of 20.

Throughout Vaughn’s career, he’s worked with songwriters who have collectively won ASCAP, BMI, SESAC, or ACM Songwriter of the Year seventeen times and Song of the Year (across the CMAs, ACMs, PROs and Grammys) 29 times. Under Vaughn, Warner/Chappell has received the award for ASCAP Country Publisher of the Year eight years in a row and BMI Country Publisher of the Year the previous three years.  In 2019 Warner Chappell won the coveted Triple Crown for the 1st time sweeping the ASCAP, BMI, and SESAC Awards.


Ep 22: Luke Laird - Creative Nation

Luke Laird is a GRAMMY and ACM award-winning songwriter and producer. Beginning in the early 2000’s, Laird has earned over 20 number one singles, including Little Big Town’s “Pontoon,” Jon Pardi’s “Head Over Boots” and Eric Church’s “Talladega.” He earned a GRAMMY award for Country Album of the Year, as well as ACM’s Album of the Year award, for producing Kacey Musgraves’ Same Trailer Different Park. In 2011, he and his wife Beth Laird co-founded Creative Nation, a music publishing and management company that is home to some of Nashville top songwriters, producers and artists. They are behind over 20 number one singles and over 60 radio singles, including Harry Styles’ number one pop song “Watermelon Sugar”.

Ep 21: Nicolle Galyon - Why Do People Like Tequila So Much?

The multi-talented Nicolle Galyon is one of Nashville’s top songwriters, producers and label heads. Galyon earned an ACM Song of the Year award in both 2015 and 2019 for Miranda Lambert’s “Automatic” and Dan & Shay’s “Tequila.” Other notable cuts include “Consequences” (Camila Cabello), “All The Pretty Girls” (Kenny Chesney) and “Female” (Keith Urban). In 2019, she partnered with Big Loud Records to create a female-focused record label, Songs & Daughters, that provides a platform for the next generation to tell honest stories about real life. That same year, she was named Songwriter of the Year at BMI’s Country Music Awards.

Ep 20: Kurt Allison & Tully Kennedy - Road Warriors

Two of the essential pieces that have created Jason Aldean’s iconic sound can be attributed to lead guitarist Kurt Allison and bassist Tully Kennedy. They have been touring/recording with Aldean since moving to Nashville, and have become some of the most in-demand studio musicians, producers and songwriters. Both Kurt and Tully produced the number one singles “Are You Gonna Kiss Me Or Not (Thompson Square) and “Carolina” (Parmalee). To add to their long list of talents and credits, they have also co-written songs like “Blame It On You” (Jason Aldean) and “Seein’ Red” (Dustin Lynch).

Ep 19: David Lee Murphy - Everything’s Gonna Be Alright

David Lee Murphy is a country music artist and songwriter. Murphy, whose songs “Dust On The Bottle” and “Party Crowd” remain staples on country radio today, is also a mastermind behind many other hit songs. His credits include Jason Aldean’s “Big Green Tractor” and “The Only Way I Know,” Kenny Chesney’s “Til It’s Gone” and “Living In Fast Forward,” as well as Thompson Square’s GRAMMY-nominated “Are You Gonna Kiss Me Or Not.”

Ep 18: Michael Tyler - Somewhere On A Beach

Michael Tyler, a self-taught artist and songwriter from Thayer, MO began working with award-winning producer Michael Knox at the age of 13. He penned Dierks Bentley’s platinum-selling song “Somewhere On A Beach,” which earned him the 2016 SESAC Song of the Year Award. He also crafted Jason Aldean’s No. 1 single “Girl Like You,” “Got What I Got,” as well as five others from his new album, 9.

Ep 17: Adam Shoenfeld - He’s Like A Rock God

Adam Shoenfeld is an ACM-nominated professional guitarist, songwriter and producer. Being one of Nashville’s go-to studio musicians, he has been featured on hundreds of albums, including Jason Aldean, Keith Urban, Luke Bryan, Big & Rich, Dan & Shay and more. He is a writer on Faith Hill’s award-winning No. 1 song “Mississippi Girl,” as well as Jason Aldean’s “Laid Back.” Shoenfeld has also been the producer on albums for John Rich, Kelsey Harmon, Sarah Darling and more.

Ep 16: Shane Minor - Rodeo Bull Rider

Former rodeo bull rider Shane Minor began his music career by signing a record deal with Mercury Records in 1999. After releasing a self-titled debut album that produced three hit singles, Minor transitioned fully into songwriting. He has penned hits like “Beautiful Mess” (Diamond Rio), “Chillin’ It” (Cole Swindell), “Live A Little” (Kenny Chesney) and “Brand New Girlfriend” (Steve Holy).

Ep 15: Rob Hatch - Free Drinks, Big Tips

Rob Hatch is an award-winning hit songwriter that has had a hand in creating music for artists like Luke Bryan, Lee Brice, Justin Moore, Florida Georgia Line, Trea Landon, Randy Houser and more. Hatch earned his first No. 1 song on Billboard’s Hot Country Songs chart with Justin Moore’s “If Heaven Wasn’t So Far Away.” He also reached No. 1 with Lee Brice’s “I Don’t Dance” in 2014, the same year he was named SESAC Songwriter of the Year.

Ep 14: Jody Stevens - Chillin’ It

Jody Stevens is a hit songwriter, producer and engineer. He has composed number one songs like “Let Me See Ya Girl” (Cole Swindell), “Home Alone Tonight” (Luke Bryan feat. Karen Fairchild) and “I Was Jack (You Were Diane)” (Jake Owen). Stevens also has production and engineering credits for artists like Luke Bryan, Cole Swindell, Thomas Rhett, and newcomer Jon Langston.

Podbean App

Play this podcast on Podbean App